Samba Afro & Voice

381/19Samba Afro & Voice

Date and time

Fri. 20.09.2019 10:00 h - Sat. 21.09.2019 18:00 h

Target audience

for middle class

Lecturer

Volker Conrath & Alafin

Description

What did the samba groups of Bahia do before the so-called samba reggae?
Afroblocos like Olodum were founded in the 80s as part of the Blackpower movement in the United States. Musically, they integrated elements of Caribbean and African music and created the varieties we know today. Before that there were the Blocos de Indio (Comanches do Pelo, Apache de Torroro, etc.). Unfortunately, these Blocos no longer exist and their way of playing disappears with the age of this generation of percussionists. Their rhythm is very improvisational and the proximity to the samba from Rio of this time (1970s) is unmistakable. The direct musical ties to the Samba de Roda (declared World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 2006) will be highlighted. This workshop offers the opportunity to experience the samba-typical swing, which is often no longer present in today's games. Samba Reggae adapts to pop music, Samba from Rio is often too fast to experience the swing nowadays. The participants should have enough experience on their instrument.

Instruments: Surdos (Fundos, Dobras or Roller called) Caixas, Repiniques (with one and two sticks), Shaker, Timbas and for the Samba de Roda in addition Agogo, Tamburim, Pandeiro and of course the voice.

Volker Conrath: freelance percussionist from Berlin, first-person Sambista, director of the Bloco Explosão in Berlin (winner of the Carnival of Cultures in Berlin), founder of the Bahia Connection, organizes trips to Brazil, lived and worked in Brazil, plays since 2000 with " Verde e Rosa ", one of the last groups in Salvador still playing the rhythms of the Bloco de Indio. He cares about the preservation and spread of these rhythms.
Marcos Marinho, "Alafin": singer, cavaquinho player, composer, percussionist of Afro Bloco Malệdebalê from Salvador da Bahia

Capacity

50

Samba Afro & Voice

381/19Samba Afro & Voice

Datum und Uhrzeit

Fri. 20.09.2019 10:00 h - Sat. 21.09.2019 18:00 h

Zielgruppe

für Mittelstufe

Dozent

Volker Conrath & Alafin

Beschreibung

Was haben die Sambagruppen Bahias vor dem so genannten Samba-Reggae gespielt?
Afroblocos wie Olodum wurden in den 80er Jahren im Zuge der Blackpower Bewegung in den USA gegründet. Musikalisch integrierten sie Elemente karibischer und afrikanischer Musik und kreierten die uns heute bekannten Spielarten. Davor gab es die Blocos de Indio (Comanches do Pelo, Apache de Torroro u.a.). Leider gibt es diese Blocos nicht mehr, und ihre Art zu spielen, verschwindet mit zunehmendem Alter dieser Generation von Percussionisten. Ihr Rhythmus ist sehr improvisationsfreudig und die Nähe zum Samba aus Rio dieser Zeit (1970er Jahre) ist unverkennbar. Die direkten musikalischen Verbindungen zum Samba de Roda (2006 von der Unesco zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt) werden wir aufzeigen. Dieser Workshop bietet die Gelegenheit, den sambatypischen Swing zu erfahren, der in den heutigen Spielarten oft nicht mehr vorhanden ist. Samba-Reggae passt sich der Popmusik an, Samba aus Rio ist heutzutage oft zu schnell, um den Swing zu erfahren.

Die Teilnehmer sollten genügend Spielerfahrung auf ihrem Instrument haben.
Instrumente: Surdos (Fundos, Dobras oder auch Roller genannt) Caixas , Repiniques (mit einem und zwei Stöcken), Shaker, Timbas sowie für die Samba de Roda zusätzlich Agogo, Tamburim, Pandeiro und natürlich die Stimme.

Volker Conrath: freischaffender Percussionist aus Berlin, Sambista der ersten Stunde, Leiter des Bloco Explosão in Berlin (Preisträger beim Karneval der Kulturen in Berlin), Gründer der Bahia Connection, organisiert Reisen nach Brasilien, lebte und arbeitete in Brasilien, spielt seit 2000 mit „Verde e Rosa“, eine der letzten Gruppen in Salvador, die die Rhythmen der Bloco de Indio noch spielen. Ihm liegt die Erhaltung und Verbreitung dieser Rhythmen am Herzen.
Marcos Marinho, „Alafin“: Sänger, Cavaquinho-Spieler, Komponist, Percussionist vom Afro Bloco Malệdebalê aus Salvador da Bahia.

Max. Teilnehmerzahl

50